

Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the 35th Annual General Meeting of Drumchapel Housing Co-operative Limited held on Wednesday 25 August 2021 at 6:00PM using ZOOM Video Communications

Present: The meeting was attended by 49 shareholding members, represented by 18 members attending remotely via zoom and 31 proxies, of which:

6 were exercised by Helen Eakin

7 were exercised by Josephine Barnshaw

6 were exercised by Elspeth Kerr

5 were exercised by Andrew Loen

7 were exercised by David O'Hara

Joan McFarlane

Helen Eakin

Elspeth Kerr

Margaret Bowie

David Riddell

Andrew Loen

David O'Hara

Josie Barnshaw

Jean Hunter

Paula Latto

Craig Parlane

Sharon Junner

Kayleigh Watt

Dione Nicol

Vincent Ogar

June Devine

Graeme MacIntosh

Leeann McPhail

The meeting was also attended by 3 non-shareholding members, namely:

Heather Fraser Becky Latto Helen Henderson

In attendance:

Pauline Burke Director

Duncan McKnight Technical Manager
Jacqueline McGoran Senior Finance Officer

Caroline Meiklejohn Housing Officer Marisa McCarthy Housing Officer

Chantelle Devlin Administrative Assistant

Stephen Watt Corporate Services Assistant

Joan Williamson Auditor, Findlays Chartered Accountants

Joan McFarlane, Chairperson, welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked everyone for such a good turnout.

1. Apologies

1.1 There were 64 apologies received namely:

Sandra Gilroy Neil McLellan Jacqueline Cairns Fiona Preston Marie McLeod Ross MacKay Ellen Jamieson Isabel Benson Paul McBride Stafford Thompson Brenda Pinkett Claire McLaughlin Maud O'Callaghan Annmarie McGowan **Tinuviel Shaw** Christopher Kearney George McLellan Zoe McAreavey Jean McGrath Paul Ferris Laura Hemphill Laura Bulloch **David Hopkins** Gail Beagan Sharon McCotter Claire McGrath Annette Loan Anne Bennett Adriaan Loen **Matthew Cotter** Susan Walker Shelly Taggart **Edward Findlay** Samantha Cassidy Henry McCreadie John Hotchkiss Karen Smart Claire MacGregor Angela O'Neill Jacqueline Graham Courtney Pollock Iain McLean Robert Honnan Jamielee Robson Roxanne O'Hara Chloe Joe Cairns-Harding Emma Fraser Joanna Douglas Rachel Coyle Nicole Lawson Melissa Young Stephanie Thomson Melanie Nthenya Brian Kyle Kailey McAndie Jamie-Lee Blair **Andrew Nixon** Claire Muir Jack McDermid Stephanie Doherty Emma Timney Rebecca Evans Gary Edward Diver

2. Minutes of the previous meeting

Jenna Edwards

2.1 J McFarlane referred the meeting to the minutes of the previous meeting held on 10 September 2020. There were no questions raised from the minutes nor any issues raised in relation to the accuracy.

- 2.2 The minutes were agreed on a proposal of A Loen and seconded by E Kerr.
- 2.3 J McFarlane then referred the meeting to the minutes of the Special General meeting also held on 10 September 2020. There were no further questions raised from these minutes.
- 2.4 The minutes were agreed on a proposal of A Loen and seconded by E Kerr.
- 3. Matters arising from the previous meeting
- 3.1 There were no matters arising from the previous Annual General Meeting.
- 3.2 Members were asked to submit questions in advance of the meeting, it was noted no questions were received.

4. Chairperson's report

- 4.1 Joan McFarlane, the Chair thanked all those members present for their attendance and welcomed them to the 35th Annual General Meeting of Drumchapel Housing Co-operative Limited. This year the Chairperson's Report was included in the papers issued to all members. The report provided an update to tenants on the work and results the Co-operative managed to achieve over the past twelve months.
- 4.2 The Chairperson's report was noted by the meeting.
- 5. Report and financial statements 2020/21
- Joan Williamson of Findlay & Co, external auditors, presented the Financial Statements for 2020/21 providing commentary on the highlights.
- 6. Report of the external auditor (verbal)
- 6.1 J Williamson of Findlay & Co provided a verbal report on the audited accounts. Highlighted was the revenue for 2020/21 totalling £2,608.821. Operating costs totalling £1,941,153 were incurred resulting in an operating surplus for the year totalling £667,668. After adjustments for actuarial gains/losses on the pension scheme comprehensive income was £59,054. Members were asked to note that the movement in the pension plan is not a direct cash movement, the Co-operative have no control over this, and this is based entirely on valuations by the Pension Trust in terms of the defined Pension plan. This figure when added to previous years equity results in the Co-operatives equity as at 31 March 2021 totalling £5,254,936. The Co-operative continues to be in a healthy financial position and no concerns were raised regarding going concern for the coming year

- The auditor confirmed to the meeting that the Co-operative had complied fully throughout the accounting period on the financial aspects of Corporate Governance. The Co-operative had complied with the information required by the Regulatory Standards in respect of internal financial controls contained within the publication "Our Regulatory Framework" and associated Regulatory Advisory Notes which are issued by the Scottish Housing Regulator. In particular it was confirmed that the efficiency of the Co-operative's financial arrangements and systems of financial control were satisfactory, therefore there were no recommendations to make.
- 6.3 After conducting the audit the auditors gave an unqualified audit report with no significant weaknesses identified.
- 6.4 There were no questions raised by members at the meeting.

7. Appointment of External Auditor for 2021/2022

- 7.1 Joan McFarlane, Chairperson asked members to approve the appointment of Findlay's Chartered Accountants as external auditors for the next financial year by a show of hands of those members agreeing to the appointment.
- 7.2 The vast majority showed hands over Zoom therefore Findlays Chartered Accountants were appointed as external auditors for the financial year 2021/2022.

8. Appointment of the Management Board

8.1 Chair Joan McFarlane referred to the Charitable Model Rules of the Cooperative and read out rule 33.1 to the meeting as follows:

In line with Rule 33.1, at least one-third of elected Board Members or the nearest whole number thereto, must retire in addition to any co-optees and anyone who has filled a casual vacancy.

8.2 The meeting noted that the Board Members who were standing down this year were as follows:

Under the "one-third" Rule:

- Helen Eakin
- Margaret Bowie
- Tiffany Harvey

Of these, Helen and Margaret confirmed their willingness to re-stand. Cooptee T Harvey was also willing to re-stand providing there was space on the Board.

Two members who filled causal vacancy posts were also required to stand down:

- David O'Hara
- Josephine Barnshaw
- 8.3 Four further nominations had been submitted prior to the meeting, along with the afore-mentioned casual members who wished to stand, from Kayleigh Watt, June Devine, Vincent Ogar, and Jean Hunter.
- 8.4 There were six nominations. All persons standing to be elected were elected as Board members with no objections.
- 8.5 The Board members elected for 2020/2021 were as follows:

Margaret Bowie
Josephine Barnshaw
Helen Eakin
Jean Hunter
Elspeth Kerr
Vincent Ogar

Andrew Loen
David O'Hara
Kayleigh Watt
Joan McFarlane
David Riddell
June Devine

Tiffany Harvey (co-optee)

- 8.6 It was noted that the Officer Bearers would be elected at a separate meeting immediately after the Annual General Meeting and Special General Meeting.
- 9. Any other competent business
- 9.1 There was no other competent business. Joan McFarlane thanked everyone for attending and formerly closed the meeting.

The meeting closed at 6.22pm.